Schedule a SETTA

As a UMN student, you can take the Spoken English Test for Teaching Assistants once every 12 months. If you are enrolled in one of our courses (CSE:TALK summer program, GRAD 5105, or GRAD 5102), you can take the SETTA one year after your final exam for that course. We recognize that there are reasonable exceptions to the one-year waiting period. To request an exception, a department representative may contact Jeff Lindgren.

The SETTA is currently conducted online over Zoom and includes two presentations with Q&A (Questions & Answers) in the presence of two raters and an undergraduate student.

SETTA Registration

At this time, we are only offering SETTAs to those who do not have a TOEFL or IELTS speaking score from any date. If you have a TOEFL or IELTS score, you can use that to determine your ELP rating. Learn the meaning of your score by visiting this TA Eligibility page.

If you do not have a TOEFL or IELTS speaking score, you can schedule your SETTA appointment by using this SETTA registration form. After answering several questions including uploading an image of yourself, you will be asked to list 3 or 4 choices of dates and times from the list of available SETTA times below. Your SETTA registration is complete when you receive a confirmation message. If you need to register for SETTA before Fall semester begins, contact Barbara Beers beers003@umn.edu with your expected TA duties and request permission to register for one of our few remaining pre-Fall SETTA openings.

Available SETTA Dates/Times

Appointments are between 25 and 30 minutes. On the SETTA registration form, you'll be asked to list the dates/times when you are available based on options listed below.

  • Tuesday, September 20: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, September 22: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, September 27: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, September 29: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.

 

  • Tuesday, October 4: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, October 6: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, October 11: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, October 13: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, October 18: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, October 20: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, October 25: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, October 27: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.

 

  • Tuesday, November 1: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, November 3: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 8: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, November 10: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 15: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, November 17: 3:30 or 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 22: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.
  • Tuesday, November 29: 9:30 or 10:00 a.m.

Questions

For more information contact Barbara Beers at beers003@umn.edu (include your student ID).